Garlic and Basil and Dill, OH MY!


Finally — we are starting to see some of the “fruits” of our labor. Here are just a few of the things we have begun to harvest:

This may be my favorite thing that we grow: GARLIC. YUM. Garlic gives twice during the year -- first when we harvest the delicious garlic scapes, and now.

This may be my favorite thing that we grow: GARLIC. YUM. Garlic gives twice during the year — first when we harvest the delicious garlic scapes and now as we collect the full heads.

Here is our garlic in the drying racks. We will keep it here for a couple of weeks and then store it in our basement to use during the year. We will cut the "hair" off the bottom of the heads in a few days after the dirt has dried It is just easier that way.

Here is our garlic in the drying racks. We will keep it here for a couple of weeks and then store it in our basement to use during the year. We will cut the “hair” off the bottom of the heads in a few days after the dirt has dried It is just easier that way.

We have A LOT of cucumbers and they are huge. I have also started harvesting some of the beets. This one was particularly large!

We have A LOT of cucumbers and they are huge. I have also started harvesting some of the beets. This one was particularly large! Xandy yelled at me because I gave the beet greens to the pigs. Hey, a pig’s gotta eat too, right???

My basil has just taken off. Pesto, here I come.

My basil has just taken off. Pesto, here I come.

Look at this fabulous dill. Hmmmm...and I have cucumbers. I think I know what is my next post! :-)

Look at this fabulous dill. Hmmmm…and I have cucumbers…. I think I know what my next post will be! šŸ™‚

Stay tuned for the rest. Tomatoes are coming, and I think that it may be time for coleslaw. Hooray for summer!

2 Comments

July 29, 2013 · 8:00 AM

2 responses to “Garlic and Basil and Dill, OH MY!

  1. Judy Maillis

    Okay, I’m from Chicago, remember – so what, exactly is a garlic scape?

  2. šŸ˜€
    Hey big city woman! Garlic scapes are the shoots that come out of the stalk . They hold a seed and taste something like a garlicy scallion. It is necessary to snap them off when growing garlic, because if you don’t, too much energy goes into growing that seed, and you end up with much smaller garlic heads. Here’s a photo I found online: http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&docid=JBdg9SrRAN9v7M&tbnid=Hz6gVpAKAC8uTM:&ved=0CAgQjRwwAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fflatbreadco.wordpress.com%2F2010%2F06%2F22%2Fcooking-with-garlic-scapes%2F&ei=g6P3UbbYNsL84AP2u4HoBw&psig=AFQjCNHnADUxI3CRthL5vgJoB7egO9ayyg&ust=1375270147947349

Leave a Reply

